Kipt

Your prompts and skills, one keystroke away.

Explore

ChatGPT Skills vs Claude Skills (plus Gemini and Copilot): one SKILL.md, four apps

ChatGPT skills vs Claude skills compared with Gemini and Microsoft 365 Copilot Cowork: SKILL.md support, where skills live, plans, sharing and limits.

By the Kipt team · Updated 28 October 2026

Do ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Copilot all support skills now?

Yes. As of October 2026, ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Microsoft 365 Copilot Cowork all read the same SKILL.md format, so the real difference between ChatGPT skills and Claude skills is not the file but the app around it: who gets skills, how you add and share them, and what limits apply.

The format is the open Agent Skills standard: a folder with a SKILL.md file holding a name, a description and instructions, plus optional scripts and reference files. Claude, ChatGPT and Gemini all document loading only the name and description at first and reading the rest when a request matches. That's why one well-written skill can work across apps.

This page compares them. For step by step guides, see Claude Skills, ChatGPT skills and Gemini skills.

How do the four compare side by side?

Each row comes from the vendor's own docs, linked in the sections below, read on 28 October 2026.

Claude ChatGPT Gemini app Copilot Cowork
Reads SKILL.md Yes Yes Yes Yes
Add your own Upload a .zip in Customize, Skills Skills, Create, upload from your computer; or ask skill-creator Upload SKILL.md, a folder or a .zip; or create in the app Customize, Skills: create, or upload .md, .zip or .skill
Where skills live Your Claude account; separate copies for Claude Code and the API Your ChatGPT workspace, and in plugins Customize, Skills in Gemini OneDrive /Documents/Cowork/skills/<name>/
Runs on its own when relevant Yes Yes Yes, for active skills Yes, found at session start
Call by hand Name the skill in your request Type @ Type / (moving to @) Not covered here
Sharing Team and Enterprise: with colleagues; groups on Enterprise (help center; see note below) Only you or specific people; admins control publishing Coming, per Google With specific users in your organization
Upload check Optional content scanning on Enterprise Scanned before use; may be marked Needs Review or Blocked Not described Automatic quality and safety report
Download or export Not covered here Not covered here More, Download as .zip It's a file in your OneDrive

"Not covered here" means the vendor's help pages we read didn't describe it, not that the feature is missing. One caveat on Claude: the help center describes sharing on Team and Enterprise, while Anthropic's developer overview still says claude.ai custom skills are individual to each user. Check your own plan's settings.

Which plans can use skills in each app?

App Who gets skills, per the vendor
Claude Free, Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise, with code execution turned on
ChatGPT Eligible Business, Enterprise, Healthcare and Edu users, subject to workspace settings
Gemini app People 18 and over on a personal Google Account with Keep Activity on; no Google AI subscription listed
Copilot Cowork Work or school accounts (generally available); personal accounts in preview

The sources: Anthropic's Use skills in Claude article (its developer docs list custom skill uploads on Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise); OpenAI's Skills in ChatGPT help article; Google's create and manage skills and Gems transition pages; and Microsoft's Copilot Cowork overview.

What are the limits in each app?

Limit Claude ChatGPT Gemini app Copilot Cowork
Number of skills Not stated in the app; up to 20 per API request Not stated Unlimited, 100 active 50 custom skills
Size API: 30 MB per skill, uncompressed API: 50 MB per zip, 25 MB per file, 500 files 100 MB per skill SKILL.md up to 1 MB; 20 companion files; 10 MB per skill
Name Up to 64 characters, lowercase, digits, hyphens Agent Skills spec Lowercase with hyphens Name and description required
Description Up to 1,024 characters Agent Skills spec Up to 1,024 characters Too long and the skill never loads
Network for scripts App: depends on settings; API: none Not described for the app No internet access Not described

Claude's limits come from its Agent Skills overview and Skills API guide; OpenAI's from its API skills guide; Copilot's from Use Copilot Cowork.

Can you move one SKILL.md between them?

Yes. Each app has a documented way in:

  • Claude: zip the skill folder, then upload the .zip in Customize, Skills.
  • ChatGPT: upload it from the Skills page. OpenAI's Build skills docs say its skills "build on the open agent skills standard."
  • Gemini: upload the SKILL.md, a folder or a .zip from gemini.google.com or the Mac app. Google says you can import skills made on other platforms this way.
  • Copilot Cowork: upload a .md, .zip or .skill file from Customize, or put the folder in OneDrive under /Documents/Cowork/skills/.

Inside Claude itself, skills don't sync everywhere either. Anthropic's docs say skills uploaded to claude.ai must be uploaded to the API separately. Anthropic's help center adds that recent versions of Claude Code load the skills you've enabled in claude.ai when you sign in with the same account.

What breaks when a skill moves to another app?

The format travels; the content sometimes doesn't. Check these before you rely on a moved skill:

  1. Scripts that need the internet. Gemini blocks them and Claude's API container has no network access.
  2. Tool names. "Run this terminal command" means something in Claude Code and nothing in the Gemini app. Write instructions that describe the goal, not one app's tool.
  3. File types. Gemini rejects .docx and .xlsx reference files. Markdown, CSV and PDF are the safe choices.
  4. Names. Claude's rules are strict: lowercase letters, digits and hyphens, up to 64 characters, matching the folder, and not containing "anthropic" or "claude". A name that passes Claude's rules is the safest choice for the other apps too.
  5. App-only extras. OpenAI reads an optional agents/openai.yaml, and Claude Code reads extra header fields. Don't rely on them outside the app that defines them.

What happens to GPTs and Gems that become skills?

Both older formats are being folded into skills:

Custom GPTs (OpenAI) Gems (Google)
Becomes A plugin; the instructions become a skill A skill
Key date Retire December 11, 2026 Read-only 17 November 2026, removed 17 December 2026 (personal accounts)
Other dates Follow your workspace's own notice, per OpenAI's admin docs Workspace business March 2027, education June 2027
What doesn't carry over Custom actions, the selected model, conversation starters Files over 100 MB, audio, video, archives, older Office files

The OpenAI dates are from its retirement FAQ and migration guide; our custom GPTs guide has more. The Google dates are from the Gems transition FAQ. Projects are a separate feature in both ChatGPT and Claude; see ChatGPT Projects vs Claude Projects.

Which should you use?

Pick by where you already work, not by the skill format, since the format is shared:

  • Claude if you also use Claude Code or the API and want the same skills on your desktop and in your terminal.
  • ChatGPT if your company runs on a ChatGPT Business, Enterprise or Edu workspace and you want admins to control sharing.
  • Gemini if you want skills on a personal Google account (Google lists no subscription requirement), or you're moving Gems before the deadline.
  • Copilot Cowork if your work lives in Outlook, Teams and OneDrive and you want skills that act on it.

Where should you keep the master copy of your skills?

Outside any one app. Every vendor above stores your skills in its own account, workspace or folder, and GPTs and Gems show that those can change on the vendor's schedule. Kipt keeps your prompts and skills as Markdown in a private GitHub repo you own, imports skills from a GitHub link, a folder or a .zip, and installs every skill into Claude Code or Codex with npx skills add https://github.com/<you>/<repo>.git --all -g. From that one copy you can upload the same SKILL.md to each app above.

Questions

What is the difference between ChatGPT skills and Claude skills?

Very little in the file itself: both read a SKILL.md folder in the open Agent Skills format. The differences are around it: which plans get skills, how you upload and share them, and what a skill's scripts can do once it runs.

Can I move a skill from Claude to ChatGPT or Gemini?

Yes, in most cases. ChatGPT, Gemini and Microsoft 365 Copilot Cowork all accept an uploaded SKILL.md or a .zip. Check that the name uses lowercase letters, digits and hyphens, that scripts don't need the internet, and that reference files are types the app accepts.

Which app has the most generous skill limits?

They measure different things. Gemini allows 100 active skills and 100 MB per skill. Copilot Cowork allows 50 custom skills of up to 10 MB each. The Claude API caps uploads at 30 MB, and the OpenAI API at 50 MB per zip.

Do I need a paid plan for skills?

Not in every app. Google lists no Google AI subscription among the requirements for Gemini skills, and Anthropic's help center lists skills on the Free Claude plan. OpenAI's help article lists ChatGPT skills for Business, Enterprise, Healthcare and Edu users.

What happens to custom GPTs and Gems?

Both are being turned into skills. OpenAI plans to retire custom GPTs on December 11, 2026, and migration turns a GPT's instructions into a skill in a plugin. Google makes Gems read-only on 17 November 2026 and removes them on 17 December 2026 for personal accounts, converting them to skills automatically.

More in Compare

All guides

Keep your prompts and skills in one place, in your own GitHub. Install every skill with one command.

Get started

Kipt is an independent product, not affiliated with or endorsed by Anthropic, OpenAI, Cursor or GitHub. Claude, ChatGPT, Codex, Cursor and GitHub are trademarks of their owners.